Things to consider when expanding your account — To share or not to share?

When another team or department within your company wants to join your CHEQROOM account, don’t jump the gun. It might seem the easiest solution, but you might want to go over a few things first to make sure sharing an account is the best solution for everyone involved.

Here are a few points to consider:

General Settings ⚙️

When merging accounts or joining an already existing account, it means you first have to agree on the general settings of the CHEQROOM account. Do both departments or teams have the same working hours? Are you located in the same time zone? And how about the modules… Which modules should you have turned on and which ones can you turn off for now?

Are you on the same page? Good! Now let’s move to the more difficult decisions.

User roles and permissions 👩‍👦‍👦

Besides the general settings we also have to emphasize the importance of the user roles and permissions settings. As you know, CHEQROOM has three different user roles. (If you weren’t aware of this awesome feature, read more about user roles)

It is up to you, the admins, to decide whether or not your team members should have the user role or the self service role. Once that’s decided, you also have to choose what kind of permissions they will have. Can they only see the availability of the items? Can they make reservations and/or checkouts? Can they ignore conflicts? Should they be restricted to certain locations? Just a few questions for you to consider… 😉

💡 Using equipment across areas?

CHEQROOM allows you to set up an unlimited amount of different locations and it lets you restrict users to a specific location as well.

This decision about who has access to what and on what level, goes hand in hand with your teams’ workflows.

Workflows 〰️

When you have come to an agreement on the settings of the account, the next step is workflows. This doesn’t mean you have to have the same exact workflow. But it’s crucial to see if they can work simultaneously in the same account without overcomplicating things for the users.

Say for example that one team has no need of the reservation feature since they just come in and take the equipment they need sporadically. But the other team would be needing both reservations and checkouts since planning a shoot or project beforehand is necessary. Now this can work, but it’s important to let the teams now which workflow they should use.

Take the time to train them before merging accounts and make sure they have the necessary and correct information.

💡 Using colored labels

Use the colored labels to mark the different teams’ reservations and checkouts, so the calendar view can be filtered accordingly and the team members can easily see which bookings or checkouts belong to which team.

Notifications 💌

One more thing we feel you should think about before joining another account, are the automated email notifications in your settings.

Email notifications are a great way to notify your administrators or your users that something interesting happened in CHEQROOM. But it might get a bit overwhelming when your team keeps receiving notifications about the other team’s bookings.


The bottom line…

So the bottom line is: if you’re operating completely independently and have no need to learn about the other department’s activities, it might be better to start your own account. You’ll have a better and less complex calendar view and the account will be more customizable to both your needs and your teams’.


Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay on top of the latest equipment management tips & best practices